Online Concealed Carry Course for Legal Carry in Louisiana
Completing our online course will allow you to apply for your Virginia Nonresident Concealed Handgun Permit which is honored in the state of Louisiana.Sign Up for Free
Carry Legally in Louisiana with the Online Course
Louisiana residents and nonresidents can apply for the Virginia Nonresident Concealed Handgun Permit. Simply complete our online concealed carry course and apply for your permit. Your permit is honored in the state of Louisiana, as well as 28 other states.
The Virginia Nonresident Concealed Handgun Permit only requires completion of our online training course. You are not required to complete an in-person training component.Sign Up for Free
Opt for In-Person Classroom and Firearms Training
You must successfully complete an in-person firearms safety and training course taught by an NRA or P.O.S.T. certified instructor that is registered with Louisiana State Police. The minimum length for the class is 9 hours. A state-approved course will include both classroom instruction and live range time (shooting).
If I Opt for In-Person Training, How Do I Apply for My Louisiana Concealed Handgun Permit?
We recommend that you confirm all concealed carry application requirements with your local law enforcement agency. Learn more about the Louisiana Concealed Handgun Permit here.
You must successfully complete a firearms safety and training course from a state-approved firearms instructor and demonstrate competency and qualification with a handgun. You will need to submit proof of certification when applying for your Concealed Handgun Permit.
The Louisiana Concealed Handgun Permit Application can be found here. You must submit your completed application, pay the required fees, complete all required training and submit all required supplemental forms and materials. You will need to submit your completed application to the Louisiana State Police:
Louisiana State Police
Concealed Handgun Permit Unit
PO Box 66375
Baton Rouge, LA 70896
Contact your local police office, local sheriff's department, or State Police Headquarters for fingerprinting. Prints must be submitted on an FBI Applicant Fingerprint Card and the card should be completed as outlined in the permit application instructions.
Louisiana Resident Requirements
- Applicants must be at least 21 years old
- Must be eligible to possess a firearm per state and federal guidelines
- Must be a resident of the state of Louisiana
- Must have a clean criminal and mental health background
- Not have committed a felony or other disallowed criminal offense
- Not be an abuser of alcohol or addicted to any illegal substances
Louisiana Nonresident Requirements
Nonresidents are not eligible to apply for a Louisiana Concealed Carry Permit.
Louisiana Concealed Carry Reciprocity
The following states recognize the Louisiana Concealed Handgun Permit:
AL, AK, AR, AZ, DE, FL, GA, IA, ID, IN, KS, KY, ME, MI, MN, MO, MS, MT, NC, ND, NE, NH, NV, OH, OK, PA, SC, SD, TN, TX, UT, VA, VT, WI, WV, WY
Louisiana honors concealed carry permits from the following states:
AL, AK, AR, AZ, DE, FL, GA, IA, ID, IN, KS, KY, ME, MI, MN, MO, MS, MT, NC, ND, NE, NH, NV, OH, OK, PA, SC, SD, TN, TX, UT, VA, WI, WV, WY