Course Outline

A concealed handgun being revealed

Laws regarding who may carry a handgun vary from state to state. To carry an open or concealed handgun legally in Texas, you must have a License to Carry (LTC) issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety (DPS).

  • To get an LTC, you must submit an online application, including any required supplemental forms and materials, and schedule an appointment to be fingerprinted. You also must:
    • Be at least 21 years of age (unless you are active duty military) and…
    • Have a valid government-issued identification card, such as a driver's license from Texas or another state and…
    • Meet the qualifications to purchase a handgun and…
    • Complete all required training, which includes successfully passing an approved classroom or online training course and demonstrating handgun proficiency (shooting) with a Texas Qualified LTC instructor.
  • The DPS will make every effort to issue your LTC within 60 days after receiving your required documentation.
  • The LTC expires on your first birthday that occurs four years after the date the license is issued to you. For example, if your birthday is on February 19 and your LTC is issued on August 16, 2018, your license will expire on February 19, 2023.
  • Unit 1 of 4
  • Topic 3 of 7
  • Page 2 of 3